Home Page Home Page
  Rss Feeds

ECB Euro Foreign Exchange Reference Rates

The ECB Euro Foreign Exchange Reference Rates are determined by the ECB for 31 currencies based on a daily concertation procedure between central banks within and outside the European System of Central Banks. Until 30 June 2016, these reference rates were reproduced by the Bank of Greece on its own website. Only one reference rate (mid-rate) is published for each currency, and all currencies are quoted against the euro (EUR 1= x foreign currency units). The reference exchange rates are for information purposes only (i.e. not for usage for transaction purposes). The daily concertation procedure normally takes place at 14:15 CET (15:15 Greece time). Until 30 June 2016, the reference rates were published on the ECB website as well as by online market data providers (Reuters, Bloomberg, etc.) shortly after completion of the concertation procedure. To access the ECB Εuro Foreign Εxchange Reference Rates up to 30 June 2016 reproduced on the Bank of Greece website,  click here (pdf, html).  

From 1 July 2016, by decision of the ECB (Press release of 7 December 2015), the ECB’s Euro Foreign Exchange Reference Rates will be published on the ECB website at around 16:00 CET (17:00 Greece time). As of the same date, the Bank of Greece will cease publication of the ECB’s euro foreign exchange reference rates on its own website. Current as well as past foreign exchange reference rates can be accessed on the ECB website.