List of Monetary Financial Institutions (MFIs) for statistical purposes

The MFI sector, as defined by the European Central Bank (ECB), comprises the national central banks and the ECB, credit institutions as defined in Article 4(1)(1) of Regulation (EU) No. 575/2013, and certain other financial institutions whose business is to  receive deposits and/or close substitutes for deposits from the public and, for their own account, grant credit and/or invest in securities.

In the Greek context,  the MFI sector comprises the Bank of Greece, credit institutions, electronic money institutions as defined in Law 4021/2011, and money market funds operating on the basis of Law 4099/2012 and in accordance with Regulation (EU) 2017/1131 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 14 June 2017 on money market funds.

This website uses cookies for the optimization of your user experience. Learn More
I Accept