Home Page Home Page
  Rss Feeds

The euro

The euro is the single currency of the 19 Member States of the European Union (EU) that have joined the euro area.

Economic and Monetary Union (EMU) is the political and economic framework that supports the euro and complements the EU single market. 

Article 106 (1) of the Treaty establishing the European Community and Article 16 of the Statute of the European System of Central Banks (ESCB) and of the European Central Bank (ECB) state that the responsibility for producing euro banknotes and putting them into circulation is shared among the ECB and the National Central Banks (NCBs) of the euro area countries.

Related Topics
Banknotes and coins, the first ten years
TOP FLOOR - Make Your Way Up!