Home Page Home Page
  Rss Feeds

Banknotes and coins

The European Central Bank (ECB) has the exclusive right to authorise the issue of euro banknotes by the National Central Banks (NCBs), while the NCBs of the euro area countries are responsible for producing, issuing and withdrawing euro banknotes. Euro coins are issued by the euro area countries in volumes approved each year by the ECB. The European Commission coordinates all coin matters at euro area level.

The Bank of Greece issues euro banknotes and coins via the banking system.