The Bank of Greece commenced operations purely as an issuing bank, with primary responsibilities to adjust the circulation and ensure the value of the currency, both in Greece and abroad.

After commencing operations, the Bank of Greece established Branches in the main cities of the country in order to intervene and manage the distribution of the savings resources and to support the vital operations of exporting trade (mainly raisin and tobacco).

In the beginning, the Bank's primary responsibility was to collect receipts and execute payments on behalf of the State and other bodies governed by public law.

Today, the Bank of Greece’s network covers 52 cities excluding Athens.

This website uses cookies for the optimization of you user experience. Learn More
I Accept